P31 Wannabe

No Bake Granola Bars May 19, 2012

Filed under: Breads,Breakfast,Recipes,Side Dishes/Snacks — Lacey @ 10:08 am

We go through granola bars like nobody’s business around here. I feel like Haddie is constantly asking for one and since I’ve been trying to eat every few hours to speed up my metabolism, granola bars are a quick and easy snack to grab occasionally. But I’m kinda picky about granola bars and my favorite are the Quaker oats chocolate chips ones. When I saw this recipe on pinterest, I knew I needed to try it.

No Bake Granola Bars

I followed the directions and like that author, used quick oats instead of granola. I also used some crushed honey nut crunch cereal instead of the rice krispies. I also added coconut.

The end product tastes great, but I couldn’t get mine to stick together. I tried to smash it down like the recipe says, but I couldn’t do it much without it just getting pushed up in another spot. I made it on half a cookie sheet. Next time I’ll use a bread pan or 9×9 pan. Maybe that’ll work better.

Also, if I make it again I’ll probably reduce the honey and sugar a bit so that it’s not do sweet and a bit healthier. I may even throw in some flax seed or more nuts next time.

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 421 other followers