P31 Wannabe

One more reason why I love homeschooling… March 24, 2014

Filed under: Homeschooling,Life — Lacey @ 2:19 pm

There are tons of reasons why I love homeschooling. Some of them I’m mentioned before, others I probably haven’t even realized yet. Here’s a few off the top of my head…

Ability to set our own daily schedule (think sleeping in, staying up later…both of which this natural night owl loves).

No forced yearly schedule. I’m leaning more and more toward year round schooling. This year I only planned our curriculum schedule for the “regular” school year but I’m probably going to keep doing “school” over the summer. Although it will be more laid back and student driven. Year round school makes random breaks, less work every day and more all possible.

No need to get dressed up. Yep, many day we stay in our pjs. Most of the girls’ pjs and their play clothes are one and the same.

Getting to spend so much quality time with my kiddos. I am so glad that I get to spend more time with them than essentially anyone else. I’m glad I’m the one that’s there for all the laughs, scraped knees, all the “firsts.”

Today I was reminded again of another big reason I love homeschooling…the ability to learn from impromptu moments that pop up. Unplanned learning moments are some of the best there are! It’s learning from real life experiences. Something that brick and mortar, weekday schools don’t usually bring, at least not much anymore.

It’s moments like these…

Walking with friends to the school track across the street (we live right across from a jr/sr high school) to see a bird’s nest. This bird is called a Killdeer.

20140324-143406.jpg

I had never heard of such a bird. My dad first pointed it out a week ago when we took H bike riding around the track. We took our friends to go see it today and got to see it in action. The killdeer usually lays it’s eggs on the ground since their eggs look like rocks (if you look closely at the above picture you should be able to see the eggs under the bird). One of the parents sits on the eggs and when confronted with a possible threat, it puffs up, spreads it’s wings and makes this crazy high pitched chirping squawking attack noise. The kids think it’s hilarious to step back and forth watching the bird sit normally then puff up and squawk, sit back, then puff up… While the bird was doing its crazy calls, its mate came flying back to help protect its nest. The mate will walk around like its wing is injured in order to distract and draw away the predator. Then once it’s drawn the threat away, the so called injured bird runs or flys off. It’s the craziest thing to watch! If we didn’t homeschool and weren’t home to be able to explore our world and take flexible breaks from “school work” we would never have gotten to see the killdeer in action! I wouldn’t even know what it is!

Another impromptu lesson H has gotten to learn today… Concrete! Daddy has been laying some concrete in the back yard and since the girls are home, they’ve been able to watch the process and H has even been helping. Daddy even let her make her own little rectangle of concrete for whatever she wants.

<

20140324-144311.jpg

20140324-155843.jpg

What other Kindergartener learns how to mix and pour concrete? What a concrete mixer and bags of concrete look like? How to level out and trowel concrete? What wet concrete looks like and to stay away from it?

I love that my girls are learning more than the traditional feminine skills! They will definitely be learning how to change oil and tires probably before they can even drive!

H even got to practice “building” with a hammer, nails, and wood scraps.

20140324-155832.jpg

Can I just say again, that I love homeschooling?

 

One Response to “One more reason why I love homeschooling…”

  1. Homeschooling provides such great opportunities for learning “in the moment” and it can involve all members of the family. Great blog!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 441 other followers