P31 Wannabe

Majestic God? May 25, 2010

Filed under: God thoughts — Lacey @ 7:01 pm

I’m in the middle of reading through Psalms in my Daily Bible. I find that some of the Psalms really relate to me and some of my recent struggles with trusting God, anxiety and the like. Others, I read then realize I don’t even remember or understand what I read. Today’s reading made me think…

“O LORD, our Lord, how majestic is your name in all the earth!” (Psalm 8:1)

Is God’s name really majestic these days? When people hear the name of God, they seem to cringe–even Christians, because they equate His name with guilt. His name is supposed to bring awe and joy to our minds (among many other things!). Why do we limit God to only a small part of his character (judgment and wrath) and not include His awesome majesty, power, grace, compassion and blessing? Why is it so difficult (for myself included!) to focus on the positive instead of all the negative in life? So, in order to combat that today, here’s what I’m thankful for–How God has blessed me:

1. My Permanent Home and My Salvation. Aka heaven. I love C.S. Lewis’ quote: “If I find in myself desires nothing in this world will satisfy, the only logical explanation is that I was made for another world.”

2. My Temporary Home. Aka the one that’s located in Cocoa, FL. Even with all its many repairs and faults, it has always protected and provided us comfort.

3. My Husband. I love how much he loves me! So many times I can’t understand his full acceptance, patience, and how he always tells me how beautiful I am (even when I honestly look disgusting!). I also appreciate how handy and do-it-himself he is (I am reminded of that today as he’s tearing apart and redoing our bedroom ceiling).

4. My Haddie. She is the most beautiful little girl I know (of course I am a little biased). She never ceases to amaze me with her love, joy, and incredible ability to learn. Today she counted to 4 and rode her play horsey around saying “gitty-up, gitty-up.” Then she wanted me to ride it. Needless to say, I got out of it by blogging : )

5. My satisfied stomach. No matter how tight things have been, we’ve never been without food.

6. Our families, including our church family. We never lack for support, love, and encouragement. And we are always given so many gifts (financial, and some that follow here…)

7. Our new hot tub. Thanks to the DaSilva family, we now have a FREE large hot tub in our porch. It took a bit of work on Seth’s part and a new pump, but its working. And we have enjoyed a new sitting space while we watch our 24 episodes.

8. FREE dentistry. I am reminded of this today as I have a cleaning appointment tomorrow. As much as I hate the dentist (not our specific one, but just the actual appointments), I am very thankful to Dr. Baratta and the free care he gives our family.

9. Our cars. Even though they may look a bit dumpy on the outside (Seth’s more than mine), they are free and clear of payments and we pray they will continue to run for much longer.

10. Our health. We have our minor illness hiccups, but overall, we and our entire close family have not have any serious health problems. Thank you, God!

11. Seth’s awesome youth ministry job. He loves it and that makes me like it all the more. And I love the chance to serve God and be making (at least I hope) a difference in these kids lives. And the church is always so good to us.

12. Our yard. We’ve been playing more and more outside recently. And although we don’t have the biggest yard, I really do enjoy our shade trees and the recent breezes. Seth has also done a good job making our yard into an adventurous area (i.e. trampoline, fire pit w/ even a swinging bench, my hammock, yard games and a front swing). And I’m enjoying my flowers…but I can’t wait to plant more! I also love watching Haddie explore the yard–picking flowers, pointing out the rolly-pollies, waving hi to the birds and squirrels.

13. My bigger than expected tax return check we received yesterday. Thanks to it, we’ll be able to pay off a credit card and complete a few house projects that have been waiting for a rainy day (aka, $).

Of course there are many, many more…but those are a few that come to mind today.

 

One Response to “Majestic God?”

  1. Chris Says:

    God is good…all the time!


Leave a Reply

