P31 Wannabe

Berries w/ Sweet Cream June 10, 2010

Filed under: Desserts,Recipes — Lacey @ 5:48 pm

I finally got the chance to make this recipe that I’ve been dying to try. I got it from Pioneer Woman’s blog (she’s awesome!). It seems like its one of her easier recipes. I actually had to separate eggs for the first time in life (I think). And I bought real vanilla extract to use, instead of the imitation stuff we always have around. Oh, and I got to use my cool mixer.

I’ve had it for quite a while and have only used it a couple times because its such a beast to get out. But now that my counter’s more cleared from all the extra baby stuff I had sitting out, but no longer need now that Haddie’s becoming a big girl (she’ll be 2 in 2 months), I’m going to actually leave it sitting out. That way I’ll use it more and be inspired to bake more. It has a lot of the attachments like the slicer, shredder (used this to shred the carrots for the orange & carrot jello salad recently), pasta maker (used that once…pretty hard to use! Wasn’t very successful at making actual noodles, more like clumps), and grinder. I’m excited to use the kneading hook to make homemade bread!

Ok, so back to the recipe…I made the cream and cut up the berries (I used strawberries, blackberries and cherries). But now i just have to wait a couple of hours for the cream to fully cool in the fridge. And I have to go to Bible study anyways. Plus, I want to wait for Seth to come to try it w/ me…and he’s at church for staff meeting and band practice. Anyways.

Here’s the link to her full recipe.
http://thepioneerwoman.com/tasty-kitchen/recipes/desserts/blackberries-with-sweet-cream

Here’s a quick cut and pasted copy:


Blackberries with Sweet Cream

Ingredients:
* 1 pint Heavy Whipping Cream
* 1 cup Sugar, Divided
* 10 whole Egg Yolks (save The Whites For Another Use)
* 2 teaspoons Good Vanilla Extract (or Vanilla Beans)
* Fresh Berries

Preparation Instructions:
Combine cream with half the sugar in a medium saucepan. Bring to a strong simmer, but don’t boil.

Whisk egg yolks in a bowl (I used my electric mixer w/ whisk attachment) with the other half of the sugar. Add vanilla extract. (If using vanilla bean instead, scrape caviar into cream/sugar mixture.)

After whisking on medium for a minute, begin slowly pouring in the hot cream; I use a metal measuring cup to scoop out small portions at a time.

After all cream is added, turn off mixer. Pour mixture into the top of a double boiler (or a glass bowl fitted over a saucepan). Cook in the double boiler over medium heat. Stir gently but constantly as the egg/cream mixture slowly thickens.

Watch the mixture: if it starts to really thicken up, remove it immediately from the heat. You want this to be more of a thick, pourable cream than a thick, heavy pudding texture. As soon as you remove the pan from the heat, set the bottom of it in a bowl of ice to stop the cooking process (but be careful not to let ice or water drip over the edge of the pan.) Stir to cool. If you need to use the cream right away, keep it in the ice bath and stir to cool.

Ideally, you’ll transfer the cream to a container and refrigerate it for several hours.

 

2 Responses to “Berries w/ Sweet Cream”

  1. addy1013 Says:

    this was SO gooooooood


Leave a Reply

