P31 Wannabe

Bugs, Thoughts, & Dishes June 12, 2010

Filed under: Life — Lacey @ 11:41 am

Before I forget (it seems like I always think of things to write about, but when I sit down, my mind goes blank, but anyways)…wanted to tell you all that I updated most of my recipes with pictures including the Sweet Cream & Berries and the Pizza Dip (this one includes pics of my youth group girls enjoying it too).

Ok, now onto some recent thoughts. Umm…so I think I have turned my daughter into a serial killer…a homicidal caterpillar killer that is! This morning we were outside and I saw a caterpillar on one of my new Marigold plants eating away. (Well at least that’s what I assumed he…or it…was doing since many of my plants are now looking like only pitiful stems.) This is one of the first ones I’ve caught in the act. So, I first showed Haddie the cute little caterpillar. And told her not to touch it. It was one of those furry ones. I’m always afraid that they’ll sting. I remember getting stung by some kind of caterpillars as a kid and ending up with the marks the size of the whole caterpillar on my foot. But again, anyways. So, then I told her that it was eating my flowers. And I took a stick and squished it. So thought it was pretty funny and picked up a stick and kept squishing it over and over. Until there was pretty much nothing left. Next we squished a beetle that was on my plants too. Then Haddie said, “nother one, nother one.” But alas, we couldn’t find anything else worth squishing. We went inside and told Daddy what we’d been doing, well Haddie came in and said “squished it, squished it.” I could tell what she was saying but Seth had no idea. But once I explained, he thought it was pretty funny. Maybe I’ve alleviated my child’s fear of bugs. I hope I haven’t created a sadistic trait in its place.

On another note, I’m rather proud of myself today. I woke up before 8 and I actually made myself get up instead of laying there to go back to sleep. Well, I was having trouble going back to sleep…so I guess I can’t claim all the credit, but I’m sure if I laid there long enough I would have drifted back off. I’m trying to make it my goal to start getting up earlier and getting into more of a routine. I met with a friend yesterday about budgeting and scheduling stuff for being a stay at home mom. It’s got me thinking more and trying to decide how to better intentionally use my time. Not that I sit around twiddling my thumbs….

Which brings me to another thought. Recently another friend made a comment that immediately got under my skin. I know she probably didn’t mean anything by it…so I’m not really personally offended. But yet it still bothered me. She said she’d been reading my blog and that she didn’t know how I had enough time to write it. I automatically took that as meaning…”you’re wasting your time” or “you should be doing other things.” I’m sure that’s not how she meant it (and if you’re reading this…please know I’m not mad at you). I guess I am sometimes sensitive and defensive to people that think that being a stay at home mom means you don’t do anything. At lunch yesterday with my fellow SAHM, she mentioned an episode of this that happened to her less than a year ago (I hope she doesn’t mind me sharing this…no names of course). One of the young adult guys in her husband’s group showed up to the house early for their weekly meeting. She still had some dishes in the sink and some baskets of laundry. At this time she had a newborn and a toddler, too. And he made a flippant comment of something to the effect, “I wonder what stay at home moms do all day…” Just hearing that….made me pretty frustrated too.

So, all of this leads me to want to set the record straight…just in case you’re wondering. No, I don’t sit around all day on the computer. I don’t watch soap operas. I don’t eat bon-bons. Honestly, I have an unspoken rule that I don’t turn on the TV during the day. Oh, occasionally I will turn on a movie for Haddie if she asks for “Nemo.” But it usually doesn’t stay on for the full movie. Mainly because she isn’t good about sitting down and actually watching it. She more so watches it for a few minutes then goes off and plays, then realizes its still on, watches it some more, then goes off and plays. Anyways…you get the idea. But I know my own weakness and that if the TV is on, I’ll find some way to get distracted by it. And I don’t usually sit around reading either. Most of the time I’m up and doing something around the house, running errands or playing with Haddie. Ok, so now I feel better getting that off my chest : )

Ok, so back to getting up early. I am still proud that I did. And hope to continue doing so. I actually made Banana Bread for breakfast and cooked Seth & Haddie some eggs (well egg whites I had left from using all the yokes to make the Sweet Cream recipe). And unfortunately this is what greeted me in the kitchen this morning….

I still have yet to figure out where and how all these dishes pile up so quickly. I am seriously thinking someone sneaks into my house and puts them there! So, in case any of you think I’m perfect, I hope I’ve crushed those delusions. I’m happy to say I loaded the dishwasher and have already run it. Although it was one of those going-to-take-two-loads sink fulls today. Blah. I don’t know why I hate dishes so much…or why they pile up so quickly. I have a dishwasher. So why do I avoid unloading and reloading it? Its one of those mysteries of life, I guess. I’d hate to see my kitchen if I actually had to wash them by hand! Yikes!

Ok, and one last comment. Have you ever seen one of these before?

Its called a “Nana Saver.” I had never seen one before Haddie got one in her Easter basket from Nana. Yes, ironic, I know. I think that’s why she picked it out. That and Haddie used to eat bananas like candy…and many times she’d only eat half at a time. So these Nana Savers would come in handy. In case you don’t know, you’re supposed to put it over the half of the banana that you’re saving in order to keep it from getting brown and yucky. Only, much to my disappointment…it doesn’t work. So don’t waste your money if you see one in the store (not that you were dying to have one, I’m sure). I’ve tried it multiple times, and unless its serious user error…these things are a failure. Just sayin’ (that seems to be the cool new saying…).

 

2 Responses to “Bugs, Thoughts, & Dishes”

  1. Susan D Says:

    I think that anyone who makes those comments about a SAHM noting doing anything all day has clearly never spent a day with a small child!

  2. addy1013 Says:

    ACK! dishes. dishes and laundry-the NEVER ENDING chores. i always feel extra guilty cause my dishes usually pile up due to me eating too much. errrr…… 🙂


Leave a Reply

