P31 Wannabe

The Men in My Life June 20, 2010

Filed under: Life — Lacey @ 5:04 pm

Happy Father's Day!


I can honestly say that God has blessed me with some of the most awesome men in my life.  I grew up with a great father.  And I am so thankful for this.  I know I have been spared of a lot of bad “baggage” from growing up in a healthy family environment.  My dad has always been a big kid at heart.  He was always the dad that got down on the floor to play with us and all the kids in the neighborhood and church loved to come over and play with us


I have so many memories of him spending quality time with us:

  • Playing the kick the can with us on weekends with all the neighborhood kids
  • Playing in the mud in the big sandpile he had dumped in our yard
  • He was the shark that attacked us in the swimming pool
  • Took us fishing
  • Played basketball
  • He built us a huge swingset out of power poles he got from work
  • Having bonfires in our big bonfire pit
  • Brought home big empty refrigerator boxes that we rolled like tanks around the yard or made into play houses
  • Let us help him with projects–A side note here…we would find actual buried treasure with him while doing some digging projects with him.  One time it was a small box filled with “pirate coins” (probably some foreign coins), other times it was strange animal skeletons.  We found out later once we had grown up that he had actually gone and buried these things for us to find.  What great planning and imagination!
  • Took us on bike rides where we explored houses being built in the neighborhood and picked wild blackberries by the Margarine bucketfulls
  • Played cops and robbers and if we were lucky, we got to ride the lawnmower around (with the blades disengaged of course!)
  • And so many more! I can’t even list them all.

Although we sometimes had our disagreements and I haven’t always agreed with his decisions, he has always been someone to respect and depend on.  Even now, he is always a constant source of encouragement, support and love.  He has always been so generous and caring for everyone.  Even now, he has random people and kids from his neighborhood coming to his door for help–whether they need their bicycle tires blown up (the kids), help on their car, their yard mown (older ladies) or someone to talk to–he always stops what he’s doing and helps them.  And I’ve appreciated his attitude and how he’s handled his separation and divorce with my mom these last couple of years.  I can’t wait to see Haddie and him playing and having even more fun!  Thanks, dad, for being you!



















I also very much appreciate my father-in-law, Mark.  He’s such an awesome Pa to Haddie and she loves him a ton!  She loves rocking and taking naps with him.  Mark has always been a great father-in-law, supportive, encouraging and never controlling.  He is always so generous with us.  And he is such a strong role model as a father, husband and Christian.




















I’m also very blessed to have Seth’s grandfather, Papa, or Professor Bourne, as many of you know him, in my life. He has always been such an inspiration as a Christian and teacher. I always enjoyed his classes at FCC and I had no idea that I would end up marrying his grandson! Yes, I finally got to wear those famous “Family of Glenn Bourne” shirts! : ) They were much coveted (in a Christian way) at FCC. I love his homemade bread, and his always welcoming attitude. I also love to see him getting on the floor and playing with the great grandchildren. They sure love their Papa!



Another man I was blessed to have in my life was my Grandfather. He passed away when I was about 10 from cancer. But I still remember him, and can’t wait for Haddie to meet him one day in heaven. He was a lot of fun and always ready to play with all of us grandkids. Here’s a few of my favorite pics of me and him (at least of the ones I have scanned in so far).




































Last, but certainly not least, is my hubby!  He is amazing beyond words.  God has certainly blessed me with someone that perfectly compliments my personality and helps to balance me out.  He is always patient, understanding and loving.  He never yells or loses his temper.  He is an awesome Christian leader for our family. And he encourages me in my walk with Christ, in being a mommy, and in all my personal hobbies and work.  He constantly tells me how beautiful and perfect I am.  Sometimes I think he’s blind…but I still appreciate it because I know he’s being honest.  He never lies or hides anything from me and I know I can completely trust him with my life.  I am so impressed with his fathering skills, too.  He gets down on the floor to play with Haddie. She loves taking rides in his truck, jumping on the trampoline with him, and swimming in the hot tub with him.  He’s always been willing to change diapers, feed, bathe and play with her. I love how involved in parenting he is.  Seth, thanks for being my best friend and an awesome Daddy.

 

8 Responses to “The Men in My Life”

  1. Susan D Says:

    What a beautiful post!

  2. Karina Says:

    I really enjoyed reading this post, it was truly beautiful 🙂

  3. Renata Says:

    beautiful tribute to the men in your life.

  4. addy1013 Says:

    i love it! i’m a little teary. 🙂 haddie is such a lucky girl!! all of our kids are so blessed to have such a strong and rich heritage! so glad we’re part of the same fam 🙂

  5. Sarah Schneider Says:

    Way to have me balling! We are both blessed with such great husbands who are great fathers. I really miss you guys.

  6. Teli Says:

    Lacey you sure do have a way with words. It got me all teary eyed too.


Leave a Reply

