P31 Wannabe

You’re Missing Out… June 21, 2010

Filed under: God thoughts — Lacey @ 2:19 am

…if you don’t know my Jesus! For some of you, I’m sure you’re ready to tune out or skip over this post. Maybe you think you’ve already heard it all before. Maybe you’re not interested. Maybe you’re just not ready to think about “religion.” I want to ask you to keep reading anyways.

Many of you who have been following my blog already are Christians. Many of you are close to me and I know you have a strong faith. Probably stronger than mine. Others of you, I know you aren’t Christians. Some of you have talked about your background and beliefs with me briefly. Others, we haven’t gotten that close (at least I haven’t gotten to know you that close…you’re learning all about me from my posts. haha). But I’d like to broach the topic, if I may. I know it may take you out of your comfort zone, but I think its surely worth it.

I know I’m not the best at sharing my faith. Sure, those of you who know me at church, hear me talk about it, and try to encourage others in it (especially those in the youth group). But those of you who know me from other arenas of life, have probably not heard me talk about it as much. And maybe I’ve not always be the best example of it. For that I’m sorry.

I’ve been laying in bed thinking about what I want to say to all of you. How I can best communicate the truth of my Savior. I’m sure I will fail to completely express His greatness and mercy. But I couldn’t lay in bed just thinking about it still. I had to get up and try to share it with you.

Some of you may be wondering what brought this on. Especially at 2 am! I’ve been reading more of that book, “I Will Carry You,” that I blogged about recently. It is still a tear jerker, but I love the author’s perspective. I love how she beautifully describes my Savior and his awesome, timeless truths. So, I feel like I would like to communicate some of that to you, but in my own words.

I want you to know that you are truly missing out if you don’t know Jesus. Its not about churchy things, religion or being perfect. Its not about rituals, traditions, and formality. Its about a relationship.

Being a Christian brings so many blessings. Indescribable joy, peace, contentment, meaning, and security. Of course, these don’t come naturally, but have to be cultivated. But Jesus makes it all possible. Some of you who don’t know Jesus, may feel like you have these things already. But I want to tell you, you really don’t. You may think you’re completely satisfied. But thats only because you’re filling yourselves up with things instead of the One who created those things. Eventually they’ll turn out empty, or they will be taken away. Please turn to the true filler of life.

Of course, life doesn’t suddenly become daisies and roses when one becomes a Christian. It isn’t filled with health and wealth like the majority of TV preachers may lead you to believe. So, why become a Christian then? Why turn to this Jesus? Because He promises a deeper, more fulfilling life. Because He promises the ultimate life. Life eternal.

Yeah, to many of us, that may not mean much. Who can actually imagine eternity? Not me, at least not completely. But I can trust that eternity with God is better than eternity without Him. And that’s what you’ll get if you decide against God or you choose to not decide at all (which is really deciding the former anyways). God isn’t going to force you to choose to be with Him. He’s all about free will. You can choose to love Him or you can choose to hate Him. And He’s not going to force a hater to be with Him for all eternity.

God is the God of life and blessings. All the good things we experience here on earth are only shadows of what’s waiting for us in heaven. For now, God blesses both the righteous and the unrighteous…or more like those who are made righteous by Jesus’ blood (his forgiveness)…with the good things here. We all experience the rain, the sunshine, beautiful art, awesome nature, newborn life, enjoyable experiences, etc. But that will not always be…if you don’t want it to.

Well, I hope I have given you a few things to think about. I’d love for you to express your feelings and beliefs in comments to this post or in private messages to me. I’d love to have conversations with you, whether you agree or not. In fact, I’d like to hear your objections. I’d like to take you to lunch to chat. Not to Bible thump, but to honestly hear you out. And if you’d like to know where to go from here, I’d love to tell you that, too.

 

Leave a Reply

