P31 Wannabe

CIY Thru the Years June 23, 2010

Filed under: God thoughts,Life — Lacey @ 1:46 pm

Seth is getting ready to leave for CIY on Friday night. We have about 40 people going this year. They’re going to Johnson Bible College in Tennessee for the conference. Beforehand they’re going whitewater rafting and spending a few days at in a big cabin at a Christian camp. I’m disappointed that I can’t go (by my own choice), but its just something I can’t do at this point. But I have been thinking about all the years that I have gone. I started going the summer before I went into 9th grade. Here’s a few of my favorite pics from those years: (I still have so many to scan in!) Click on the pictures to see them better.

My High School CIYs


































CIY as a Youth Sponsor

I started going to CIY as a youth sponsor the summer after my freshman year of college (I don’t have those pics scanned in yet). It has always been a joy to go to CIY and see the lives changed as a result. Each trip brings its own emotions, both good and bad. But there are always hilarious memories that result. I can remember so many pranks: drawing with permanent marker on people’s faces while they sleep, hiding people’s beds, making a rope with their undergarments, toilet papering rooms, and much more. It is always exciting to see the decisons that are made. CIY is the one trip that has the most results in baptisms, rededications, and decisions for Christian ministry or Bible college. Here’s some pics of many years I’ve gone as a sponsor:

2003-2004, Tennesee


2005–Cleveland, TN












2006–Southern IL University, Carbondale, IL

























Our goofy video every morning: I LOVE EGGS!


2007–College of Art & Design, Savannah, GA




















And the goofy morning video of the week: (This explains the pic of Brandon in the robe and head wrap)


2009–Lee University, Cleveland, TN




I am praying like crazy for this year to be an awesome one. There are a few kids that are going that I know need to really change their lives and become Christians. There are some others that are going that need to get back on track and I hope this will be the turning point in their lives. Others just need a boost of encouragement to continue with how they’re living. I pray that the trip will be smooth (no bus troubles or group drama), safe and a ton of fun for everyone. I’m also praying that this trip really draws our kids closer together. They’re already a lot closer than in the years past, but I can’t wait to see them being even closer after this trip. Join me in prayer for our group and the thousands of other kids that are going to CIY conferences this summer.

 

Leave a Reply

