P31 Wannabe

Here we stay June 25, 2010

Filed under: Life — Lacey @ 1:20 am

Seth is leaving for CIY tomorrow night…well, I guess its actually tonight since its 1 am! I’m a bit bummed at this point because I saw him for only about an hour today. Or so it feels like. He got up at 4:15 am (yes, you read that right) to go play basketball at the Baptist church, then worked out, then spent most of the early part of the day working on the church bus to get it ready for the trip. He came home, talked to me for a few minutes while eating lunch, then went out to mow the jungle (hallelujah), then had to rush to the church for his staff meeting. We then had Bible study with his grandfather (an awesome one at that). Then we got home, put Haddie to bed, and while relaxing and watching the LOST finale…he fell asleep. No amount of my “you can’t sleep this is the last LOST!” could keep him awake. So, I finished LOST and am still LOST and now I don’t have him to help me piece it all together. Since then he’s pretty much been comatose…and I can’t sleep, once again.

I think I’m becoming a night owl. I seriously need to get on a more regular sleep schedule so I can function with getting up at a normal hour in the morning. But tonight and tomorrow are not promising to be any help. Oh well.

I’m going to visit my family during this next week while Seth’s gone. I’m going to be there from Sunday to Thursday. It should be interesting. Usually Seth is with me to help drive (its only 2.5 hrs away..not like its days or anything) and visit. But since he’s not with me, we’re going to be able to stay longer since we won’t have to be back for youth group. Like I said, it should be interesting. I enjoy seeing my family and all. But since my parents’ divorce and my mom’s remarriage, it makes for some interesting family dynamics.

I don’t know how kids deal with divorces when you’re actually a kid. I’m glad it didn’t happen until I was out of the house. And far enough away to not be so much in the middle of it. But overall, my parents have done a good job about not making it too ugly. But there’s always going to be the aspect of he-said she-said stuff. But we’re trying to make the best of it.

Still, going back to the hometown is always kind of weird. Especially to see some of the people I grew up with that haven’t really grown up or moved on since high school. Thankfully I don’t usually run into too many of them. But its still weird when I do. I feel like I revert back to the awkward, insecure middle/high school age. Blah. I hate that. So glad I’m outta that stage. But I hate when I’m thrust back into it.

On the brighter side, I’m excited about taking Haddie to the Homosassa Wildlife Park with my dad. Now don’t be deceived…its nothing too exciting. I know its sometimes advertised as such, but from what I remember as a kid, its not. But its still going to be fun to see it through Haddie’s eyes. And honestly, I don’t remember much about it anyways. Its been a while since she’s been to the zoo or Sea World and since she’s talking so much more and much more observant, it should be pretty cool.

And I’m excited about going to El Ranchito with my mom. It has got to be the best Mexican place I’ve ever been to. I have been having cravings for years. And now, my addiction may be started again! I can’t wait to sink my teeth into their quesadillas and their never ending chips and salsa. Just thinking about it reminds me of my best friends from high school and our trying out our Spanglish on the nice waiters there. That and my cheese addicted friend always ordering their queso. Yum. I can’t wait!

I’m also looking forward to seeing my sister and my nephew! Its still weird to say that I have a nephew. And from the pics he’s getting big. Can’t wait to see them. I’m also going to get to visit with one of my best friends from high school. Should be fun to catch up and see her new baby (well…he is closer to a year now…its been a while since we’ve seen each other!). So, all in all, I’m looking forward to the time I get to get away.

But I’m still bummed that things always come up that come in the way of time with Seth before he leaves for the 9 day trip. I guess its life though. At least the youth ministry life. But blogging and venting has made me feel much better. And more excited about my trip!

 

2 Responses to “Here we stay”

  1. Christina Says:

    I am right there with you! Chuck is leaving Sunday for a week of camp, so Levi and I are going back to Tampa for the week. I love going home and seeing family and friends, but by the ned of the week I am READY to come home. Chuck is leaving for CIY in a couple weeks, so we’ll be doing the same thing all over again. Hope you have a great time with your family. I’ll pray for safe travels and a fun time.
    Christina

  2. addy1013 Says:

    i’m sad they’re leaving! at least we can console each other for a couple days….and then totally abandon each other šŸ™‚ hopefully next year we’ll be enjoying the trip with them šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

