P31 Wannabe

Chicken Rollatini July 7, 2010

Filed under: Main Courses,Recipes — Lacey @ 12:43 am

I’m back to making the meals I planned out in my Meals for a Month. Tonight’s dinner was Chicken Rollatini with salad. Here’s a few pics of the process. The recipe is at the end (I got it from a Family Circle magazine–May 09).



Chicken after its done baking

Looks interesting, huh?


My first attempt at cutting it up

For some reason this picture makes it look like I didn’t cook it all the way.  But really, it was all done, I promise.  I think the pinkish look is from some of the pieces of turkey.  Once I cut it up it all kind of came apart.



Cutting attempt #2

I’d say this one turned out a little better.  It still looks kind of weird, but really, its better than it looks.

It was pretty good, but seemed like it was missing something.  Without any sauce it was a little dry.  I melted some butter and put it on the noodles and that seemed to make it a little better.  Seth said it would be even better with more cheese added at the end.  I think a lot of the cheese from inside the chicken roll up probably melted out.


Chicken Rollatini

Makes: 4 servings

Prep: 10 min

Cook: 4 minutes

Bake: 350 for 25 minutes (I found it took at least 10 min longer for mine)



Ingredients:

4 thin-sliced chicken breast halves (about 1 lb)

8 slices deli smoked turkey (about 1/4 lb)

4 slices provolone cheese, folded in half (I used swiss)

8 large basil leaves (I used dried, because Walmart was out of fresh)

4 toothpicks (I needed a lot more than this!)

1/4 t salt

1/8 t pepper

1 T olive oil

Noodles (optional)



1. Heat oven to 350.  Spread chicken cutlets on a cutting board.  If you can’t find thin-sliced chicken, simply slice 4 thick cutlets in half.  (Or pound it out to make it thinner)

2. Place 2 slices of turkey on each piece of chicken.  Top each with one slice of cheese and 2 basil leaves.  Roll up chicken to enclose filling, folding any overlapping edges of turkey over cheese.  Secure closed with toothpicks.  Season with salt and pepper.

3. Heat oil in skillet on medium-high heat.  Add chicken rolls and brown on all sides, turning, about 4 min.  Transfer chicken to baking dish and cover with foil.  Bake at 350 for 20-25 min or until chicken is cooked through.

4. To serve: Remove toothpicks and cut chicken rolls crosswise into 1/2 thick slices.  Serve with cooked noodle and a green vegetable, if desired.



 

Leave a Reply

