P31 Wannabe

New Books August 2, 2010

Filed under: Books,God thoughts,Life — Lacey @ 6:00 pm

I ordered 3 new books by Jill Savage last week that I’m super excited about:

  • My Heart’s At Home: Becoming the Intentional Mom Your Family Needs
  • Professionalizing Motherhood
  • Living With Less So Your Family Has More

I’ve never read anything by her before, but one of my friends recommending the second book and I stumbled upon the other two and was interested from their descriptions on Amazon. I’m really wanting to become more intentional and organized (mainly with time) as a mother. I figure that since this is my full-time job now, I should treat it like it as far as taking it seriously and being intentional.

One of my biggest struggles during the past month has related to sleep and motivation. Since I had been sick for 2 weeks of this month, I had gotten into the “sickness” mentality as far as being satisfied with sitting around when I normally wouldn’t. I would automatically think, “Its ok if I’m lazy and do nothing…because I’m sick.” And I continued to think this for a few days after I had recovered. I realized then that it was time to get back to a regular schedule and I had to force myself to do this.

I love my sleep and I love to sleep in…more like I love not having to wake up to an alarm before I’m ready to get up. But even then I’m still tired and take a while to get motivated and moving with my day. So, about a week or two ago I decided it was time to get more disciplined. I started setting my alarm to make myself get up…even if I didn’t have something specific I had to do. Which for some of you, you’re probably like…”how lazy are you?” But for me, it is just a struggle to get up if I’m still tired and if Haddie isn’t awake yet.

But I’m slowly conquering this weakness of mine. I’m not getting up super early or anything. But I am getting up when the alarm goes off. And I’m planning on moving it back more every couple of days.

The other battle I was having is that I just couldn’t get to sleep at night. Of course we’d stay up too late anyways, so it made it even worse when I couldn’t sleep for another hour or two. Thankfully once I started forcing myself to get up a little earlier and to go to bed a little earlier, its gotten a lot better. But I still battle with making myself go to bed. I am just a night-owl and if I’m not passing out sleepy…I don’t want to go to sleep. Weird, I know.

I was especially convicted after reading these verses in Proverbs recently:

“How long will you lie there, you sluggard?
When will you get up from your sleep?
A little sleep, a little slumber, a little folding of the hands to rest–
and poverty will come on you like a bandit and scarity like an armed man.” (6:9-11)

“Laziness brings on deep sleep, and the shiftless man goes hungry.” (19:5)

“Do not love sleep or you will grow poor; stay awake and you will have food to spare.” (20:13)

And from my key chapter of Proverbs 31:

“She gets up while it is still dark; she provides food for her family and portions for her servant girls…She sets about her work vigorously; her arms are strong for her tasks…Her lamp does not go out at night…”


So, back to the books…
I got the first book in the mail a few days ago and have started to read it. I am really liking what I’ve read so far (only 2 chs). I’m going to try to post a few of the tidbits that I really like as I go through it (and hopefully the other two).

Here’s what I’ve found interesting so far…

  • If a child was being disrespectful to a sibling or us, they lost their freedom of speech.
  • The pace of life we travel at breaks all speed barriers from generations past. We work long hours, pack in too many activities, say yes too often, and often push ourselves so hard that we end up broken-down on the side of the road [the figurative road of life].
  • Indeed, we live in a fast-paced culture. Could it be, however, that while the world is traveling at breakneck speeds, we could choose to operate at a slower pace of life? We tell our kids not to cave in to peer pressure, but we are tempted to do so ourselves as we try to keep up with the neighbors, give our kids the best, or take advantage of every opportunity offered.
  • For some of us parenting has become America’s most competitive adult sport.
  • Boredom needs to be a goal of parents. Unscheduled time encourages children to create and imagine. It helps them to learn how to fill their time rather than expect others to entertain them.
  • While mealtimes have nutritional purposes, they also serve a larger purpose of building community within a family. When the family sits down together to share a meal, it is as if they pull off the highway of life, find a parking spot, and enjoy relational refreshment.
  • Research supports that teens who ate dinner five to seven times a week with their families were 45 percent less likely to try alcohol, 24 percent less apt to smoke marijuana, and 67 percent more like to get A’s compared with kids who never or rarely dined with their families.
 

2 Responses to “New Books”

  1. addy1013 Says:

    the “speed” of life stuff in that book reminds me of a sermon we heard a few years back in KS–he talked about having “margins” in your life. and how these days we tend to not have any. physically, spiritually, time, financially…..we max ourselves out…..it’s so hard not to. but i think so important to strive to keep the margins so we can do the extras when we need to. looks like a good book!


Leave a Reply

