P31 Wannabe

The Frustration of Dieting August 3, 2010

Filed under: Life — Lacey @ 7:48 pm

Just to clarify, I am not dieting…well, not directly.  I may be dieting by proxy.  See, Seth and his dad have started a hard-core dieting/workout competition for the next 6 weeks.  Well, actually, they’ve moved it up to 8 now.  Blah.  Its not that I’m really bothered by his dieting/working out…its the effects it has on our grocery bill and my ability to cook for us.

When he’s on his “diet,” he eats hardly any carbs or sugars.  So, there goes any pastas, rice, breads, etc in my cooking menu.  It makes for some very difficult meal planning.  I hate to actually cook a regular meal if its just going to be me eating it.  Otherwise I end up with a lot of leftovers that I cannot finish.  Especially if it involves any form of dairy since Haddie can’t help eat it.

So, I’m struggling to go through of my notebook of recipes to find something we can both eat…and actually like.  I’ve gotten two weeks worth of dinners planned now, and some of them, he’s just going to have to turn into salads or eat the meat without the rice.

His diet also increases our grocery bill since he’s buying more meat (aka protein), veggies (surprising, I know), and protein powder junk.

His diet also increases our dishes…note below…

This is what I’m currently avoiding, but I’m going to have to tackle sometime tonight.  Blah.  Seth has been cooking his meat and meals in bulk, which means we have more dishes to do.  Another blah.

Honestly, I don’t want it to sound all negative.  I’m happy for him to workout more if he feels better.  And if its going to make him even more buff and handsome…I can’t complain.  And also on the positive side, is the dieting by proxy I mentioned.  As a result of him eating less carbs, I am probably going to be doing the same, too.  And I’m going to be creating new types of salads and healthy stuff to eat.

Case in point:

This was my dinner tonight and it was delish.  It included romaine lettuce, mandarin oranges, strawberries, grapes, sliced almonds, chicken, mozzarella cheese and raspberry walnut vinaigrette dressing.  Yummy!

 

3 Responses to “The Frustration of Dieting”

  1. Renata Says:

    oh my, that salad does sound yummy! i think i’ll have to try it.

  2. Joe and I did super low carb for a month, so I know it’s difficult. Something delicious is chicken breast dipped in egg and then shredded parmesan cheese (instead of bread crumbs). Then you cook it in a non-stick skillet w/ some olive oil, so it doesn’t stick. I’m pretty sure it doesn’t have any carbs at all in it. I’ve got some other recipes too if you want. I even have a list from a friend of all the low carb diet friendly grocery items.


Leave a Reply

