P31 Wannabe

Coconut Chip Cookies August 14, 2010

Filed under: Desserts,Recipes — Lacey @ 2:46 pm

I made these cookies for my high school D-Group last night and they were a big hit! I used chocolate cake mix instead of the white since its all I had and I love chocolate! I also just used walnuts instead of the other nuts, since that’s what I had, too. Oh, and when these are baking, they don’t spread out like other cookies, so don’t think they’re not done. I burned the bottoms of my first batch because they didn’t look all the way done, but they were.

I got this recipe from an old Quick Cooking magazine.

Coconut Chip Cookies
Makes: 3.5 dozen

1 pkg (18.25 oz) white cake mix
2 eggs
1/3 c veggie oil
1 c flaked coconut
1/2 c semisweet chocolate chips
1/4 c chopped macadamia nuts or almonds

1. Preheat oven to 350.
2. In a mixing bowl, beat dry cake mix, eggs and oil (batter will be very stiff).
3. Stir in coconut, chips and nuts. Roll into 1-in balls and place on a lightly greased baking sheet.
4. Bake at 350 for 10 min or until a slight indentation remains when lightly touched. Cool for 2 min then remove to a wire rack to cool completely.

 

Leave a Reply

