P31 Wannabe

Home as a Museum September 15, 2010

Filed under: Books,God thoughts,Life — Lacey @ 1:59 pm

My favorite excerpts from ch.8 “Home as a Museum” from Jill Savage’s My Heart’s At Home

(Italics are direct quotes, regular text are my comments)

A history museum displays artifacts from the past.  It completes a picture for us concerning where we’ve come from and paints a picture we might not otherwise be able to see.  When home is a museum, it serves as a place to remember the past in our lives and in lives that were lived before us.  It also serves as a memorial to the work that God has done in our lives.


Our God Stories:

It’s nothing but an old Coke bottle box that we found at an auction.  Hanging on our family room wall, it houses a display in our family’s museum.   Each item in the display has a “God story” that goes along with it.

When home is a museum, credit is given where credit is due.  The memorials displayed are a tribute to God’s work in the family.  What God stories does your family have?  What could you display to represent them?  How could you follow Joshua 4:6 “In the future when your children ask you, ‘What do these stones mean?’ tell them…”

-It think this a neat concept.  I’m not sure how we might carry it out ourselves though.  I’ll have to keep thinking about this…


Tell the Family Stories:

When home is a museum, it is also a tribute to the family who came before us.  If you have the ability to tell family stories with or without a cemetery tour, I encourage you to take the time to do it.  Here are some tips for making such an effort successful:

  • Take notes (i.e. directions to cemeteries, stories that went with each grave site)
  • Use a video camera.  This allows you to record the stories as they are being told.
  • Take pictures of the gravestones.  This gives you the possibility of putting together a scrapbook of the pictures and stories.
  • Take crayons and paper.  Even younger children can learn how to do gravestone rubbings to read the words on a worn gravestone.
  • Ask questions.  You might start with “Grandma, what do you remember about your childhood?” or “Dad, tell me what you remember about Uncle Joe.”

-I definitely think this cemetery tour is interesting.  I’ll have to keep it in mind for when Haddie is older.  Although there aren’t a lot of family members buried close to here.  Our family was never in the habit of visiting the cemetery.  Maybe its because we know only their bodies are there, but not their spirits.  So, what’s the point of it?  But I do see some neat possibilities in teaching/remembering family history.  I also find it kinda sad that I really don’t know much of our family’s history either.  I only met a couple of my great-grandparents and pretty much all my grandparents are deceased.  So, I haven’t heard many of the stories, but I’d like to look into it more.

 

Leave a Reply

