P31 Wannabe

Starting to Imagine… October 28, 2010

Filed under: Books,God thoughts,Life — Lacey @ 5:02 pm

So, I started reading the book “Heaven” by Randy Alcorn yesterday. I’m impressed so far and looking forward to reading a lot more (I better be…because its 473 pages long!). Like some of the other books I’ve read in the past couple months, I’d like to share the highlights of this one with you. I hope they get you thinking, imagining, hoping…and maybe even doing something to make this place your true home.

(Italics are direct quotes, regular text are my comments)

The Subject of Heaven

  • Anthropological evidence suggests that every culture has a God-given, innate sense of the eternal–that this world is not all there is.

He mentions that yes, each culture differs on their ideas of the eternal, but the fact that this idea is universal to all cultures, really means something.  (On another note, Seth and I have been watching a lot of the TV show Bones recently…so reading anything about “anthropological evidence” made me laugh.  If you’ve never watched the show, just ignore what I just said.)

  • God never gave up on his original plan for human beings to dwell on Earth.

He explains this in more detail throughout the book.  Just know that he’s talking about the New Earth and how it relates to our current Earth.

Our Terminal Disease (mortality)

  • The current death rate is 100 percent.  Unless Christ returns soon, we’re all going to die.
  • If the Bible is right about what happens to us after death, it means more than 250,000 people every day go to either Heaven or Hell.
  • God uses suffering and impending death to unfasten us from this earth and to set our minds on what lies beyond.  I’ve lost people close to me.  (Actually, I haven’t lost them, because I know where they are–rather, I’ve lost contact with them.)

-I liked his “lost contact” bit here.  Found it interesting…and true.

  • Jesus came to deliver us from the fear of death, “so that by his death he might destroy whim who holds the power of death–that is, the devil–and free those who all their lives were held in slavery by their fear of death” (Hebrews 2:14-15)
  • In light of the coming resurrection of the dead, the apostle Paul asks, Where O death, is your victory?  Where, O death is your sting?” (1 Corinthians 15:55)
  • What delivers us from the fear of death?  What takes away death’s sting?  Only a relationship with the person who died on our behalf, the one who has gone ahead to make a place for us to live with him.  If we don’t know Jesus, we will fear death and its sting–and we should.

-So true!!!  I want to put a bizillion exclamation points behind this one!!!

 

Leave a Reply

