P31 Wannabe

Duggar challenge November 11, 2010

Filed under: Life,Misc — Lacey @ 3:51 pm

So I’ve decided to start watching the Duggar family’s show. A friend of mine enlightened me to it’s existence on Netflix. Well, at least the first couple seasons. So I’m starting from the beginning… When they ONLY had 17 kids. Wow. Should be interesting. And I’m gonna share some of my comments along the way.

I’ve watched 3 episodes so far…

1. I’m not a big fan of the long skirts and long hair movement (for girls that is. Well for either gender!). Not that there’s anything wrong with either. But I don’t think it’s wrong for girls to cut their hair or wear pants. Just sayin.

2. I admire that woman’s (Michelle is her name) ability to keep calm, not stress AT ALL, and to talk in a sweet soft voice (although it does sometimes get annoying). I could learn a thing or two from her.

3. She apparently gets nausea and morning sickness with every pregnancy. I think I would have stopped producing along time ago (for more reasons than the morning sickness…but it would have been a BIG deterant for me). She’s expecting #18 at this point in the season.

4. The first two episodes they take all 17 kids and grandma to New York city. They’re either very brave or completely nuts. I’m thinking a bit of both.

5. It was funny watching them flag down taxis for all of them. It took 3-4 taxis including at least one taxi van. And momma (as they endearingly call her on the show) gave each of the drivers their own family photo of all 19 of them. They also handed out more of said photos to random staring people on the NY streets. I don’t think I’d want them all to have my family’s picture. Just sayin.

 

2 Responses to “Duggar challenge”

  1. Renata Says:

    i watched it a few times when i had cable. what struck me also was the fact she was able to remain so exceedingly calm and soft spoken all of the time. they have a website (the name of which escapes me right now), and listed on the website are the rules of the household everyone is expected to follow. if i recall correctly, one of the rules is to never raise your voice or speak harshly to another or something along those lines. she seems to model that rule quite well.

  2. Teli Says:

    I loved that show 🙂 It’s one of my fav.s


Leave a Reply

