P31 Wannabe

Frugally Green November 23, 2010

Filed under: Life,Misc — Lacey @ 2:15 pm

I admit. I’m not a real “Green” person. Ok, hate if you want. I only started really recycling this year (the county finally gave us our recycling bins). I try to recycle as much as possible (especially when it doesn’t require much extra work).

I know that we should be good stewards of God’s creation, but sometimes there are just more important matters in life. I’m much more concerned about people and their souls than the earth. Sorry if that upsets you. Actually, I’m not really sorry. A lot of times I also reason that in the end, the earth is going to be burned up and destroyed anyways. And God’s going to create a brand new heavens and earth…so why spend all my effort on something that doesn’t eternally matter?

But in reality, we really are green. Being frugal leads one to be green. I’ve realized this for a while but one of the last episodes of “18 Kids and Counting” reminded me of it again.

Here’s what I mean:

  • We use everything as long as possible.  Usually to its last legs and sometimes we still find different uses for it.
  • We buy used items as much as possible (as a result we are reducing waste).  Every single piece of furniture in our home (excluding our new couch/recliner set) is used.  Each piece was either a hand-me-down or purchased used.  Our vehicles are hand-me-downs or used.  And we don’t plan on buying another vehicle until ours completely dies (and then we’ll buy used too).  The majority of our larger appliances are also used (usually purchased from Craigslist).
  • We reuse a lot of things like plastic grocery bags.  We shop at ALDI a lot and have to bring our own bags or reuse their bigger plastic bags.
  • Seth usually refills our printer ink cartridges
  • We wear most of our clothing/shoes until they are unwearable.  Otherwise they are usually donated or given to friends.
  • We collect our aluminum cans and turn them in for cash.
  • A lot of Haddie’s clothes (and some of ours) are hand-me-downs and will in turn later become hand-me-downs.
  • And of course we now recycle via our recycling bins.

Which brings me to my next subject, that I’m actually excited about–Brevard County (at least the unincorporated part) has expanded their list of recyclables:

  • Cardboard and paperboard food boxes
  • Milk/Juice Cartons
  • Paper towel and Toilet Paper Rolls
  • Corrugated Cardboard Boxes
  • Empty Aerosol Cans
  • Aluminum Foil and Food Pans
  • Newspapers
  • Magazines/Catalogs
  • Office Paper
  • Junk Mail
  • All kinds of Envelopes
  • Telephone Books
  • Brown Paper Bags
  • Aluminum/Steel Cans
  • Glass Bottles and Jars
  • Plastic Bottles
  • Plastic Caps and Pumps
  • Printer Cartridges (Placed in clear bag on top of bin)

So now its even easier for us lazy people to recycle!  My bin is going to be seriously overflowing each week.  And if we ever forget to take it out one week, we’re going to be in trouble.  Which makes these recent Thursday (pick up day) holidays a little annoying.  But anyways!

Hope you all have a fabulous Thanksgiving week!  And don’t forget to thank the One who’s made it all possible! : )

 

Leave a Reply

