P31 Wannabe

Homemade Breads (Bagels, English Muffins, etc) March 29, 2011

Filed under: Breads,Recipes — Lacey @ 8:48 pm

The last few weeks I’ve been on a bread making adventure.  Two weeks ago, a friend and I made 4 loaves of bread (whole wheat and honey oat) and 12 bagels (blueberry and cinnamon/sugar).  They were all so good that I ventured last week to make more of the honey oat bread and english muffins.  The English muffins were sooo good and easier to make than the bagels.  The bagels were really good too but more work since they had to rise twice and be boiled for 1 min each before baking.  And for some reason they didn’t rise enough after baking to easily slice them in two.  I’ll probably try them again in a week or so though and see if I can better perfect them.

I also tried making homemade granola.  It was pretty easy and yummy.  Although for some reason if I eat a whole bowl with milk it doesn’t settle too well at first.  Its always seems to be this way if I eat a lot of whole grains and nuts.  But anyways. I added some cinnamon and chopped pecans to the original recipe.  It was pretty good served over yogurt.

The bagels, English muffins and granola were all from the Happy House Wife’s blog:

Bagels

English Muffins

Granola

(And if you have a few minutes, browse the rest of her site, its awesome! Has lots of money saving, home schooling, and other tips.  And read her story of how she met/married her husband.  It’s hilarious…and gives lots of hope for marriages that start out badly!)

 

And the breads were from the cookbook that came with my kitchen aid mixer.  If any one wants to recipe, I can post it, but it might be different since it uses the mixer to knead it all.

And this is the next bread recipe I want to try: Sweet Whole Wheat Bread

 

Leave a Reply

