P31 Wannabe

Another Day In the Bag July 27, 2011

Filed under: God thoughts,Life — Lacey @ 12:10 am

Whelp, today ended up being another productive day that I’m pretty proud of. Here’s my happy accomplishment list for the day:

1. Got up at an alright time. Especially happy because I successfully forced myself to get up even though I was exhausted (thank you late night blogging last night). And I was also up with Haddie twice during the night. Once I remember, the second I don’t. But I woke up with her in our bed and Seth says I got up to open the door and I let her in the bed “for just a few minutes.” I asked him why he didn’t stop me and his response cracked me up, “because you seemed like you were in your sound mind.” Yeah, I totally have no recollection of any of that. Kinda funny, but scary at the same time!

2. Got more of my kitchen project finished. Finished all the painting, helped Seth hang my antique plates (well, I just directed him where to put them), and branched out into other painting projects that I needed to use the same color for.

Here’s how the plate hanging turned out:

20110726-113802.jpg

20110726-113751.jpg
I’m happy to finally be able to display these plates. The built in china cabinet in this house is too small to display everything. These plates came from my grandma and I think a number of them belonged to her mom. And at least one of them was handpainted by my great-grandfather. I never got to meet him, but if my memory of the stories are correct, he started painting after he had a stroke. Yes, random fact.

3. I also broke out my sewing machine to start working on the curtains I need to make for the kitchen. I’m hoping to use a set from the old house for the window over the kitchen sink. So I’ll just have to make a set for the french doors…hopefully I’ll accomplish that tomorrow. But tonight I did sew a small curtain type cover to fill in an awkward size opening we had under the counter between the cabinets and the fridge. It stinks that this space is too small for a trash can or anything else to really be stored there, but it’s big enough to be noticeable and tacky. So here’s what I came up with:

20110726-114757.jpg
Here’s another shot with the fridge in view to get a better idea of how it’s going to look once we get the fridge pushed back into place.

20110726-114813.jpg

I’m hoping Seth will get the rest of the small kitchen projects done this week so that I can officially say I’m done with the entire room. He needs to make some new kickboards for under the cabinets so that I don’t have to have these ugly holes anymore:

20110726-115125.jpg
I’m really tired of being able to see what I’m storing under my sink…with the cabinet closed. Yes, there is no bottom to that cabinet because the dodos who lived here previously decided to just let their sink leak and leak and leak without calling a plumber. I mean, who woulda known that wood doesn’t just magically absorb water with no long term problems?

And seriously, how hard do you have to kick the kickboards to make this kinda damage? Wonder if they broke some toes on that one?

20110726-115134.jpg

I’m also begging Seth to replace the seal on the French doors. The lovely previous owners decided to feed it to the dog.

20110726-115610.jpg

4. On a very different note, I was happy that I got to have some good prayer time and I’m gonna be reading my Bible soon before I go to bed. This is a pretty big accomplishment for me because normally if I don’t get it done earlier in the day, I never seem to be able to make myself do it at night. I tend to be too tired to focus or too distracted (blogging…case in point). I’m going to share some of my prayer list in my next post.

5. I got to have some good fellowship time with friends at Tijuana’s taco tuesday. Which also meant that I didn’t have to cook again. One of these days I will get back to it…yeah, once my kitchen is put back together.

6. I did my weekly CVS/Walgreens shopping and scored some pretty good deals. For instance: 2 free sticks of Irish spring deodorant, pads for $.49, 6 candy items (M&Ms and musketeers) all for only $1. I also got a couple different kinds of itch relief since Seth is still struggling big time with poison ivy on his arms and something else (almost like hives) on his feet and legs. He took two Waladryl (Walgreens benadryl) and got super sleepy. He was even struggling to walk straight. It was kinda funny…guess he should have only taken one!

7. Oh, and I deep cleaned my kitchen window, inside and out. It’s amazing what a difference a clean window makes!

I’m praying (yes, literally) that I can keep up this productive habit and make it a permanent. And that I’ll be able to work in more of the healthier eating and exercising soon.

 

Leave a Reply

