P31 Wannabe

Tragedies and Prayers July 27, 2011

Filed under: God thoughts,Life — Lacey @ 12:50 am

I’ve had an increasing number of people on my heart and prayer list because of illnesses and tragedies. I wanted to share some if them so you might pray for them, too.

The first is the Johnson family from Palm Bay. Although I don’t know them personally, their story has really broken my heart. I first heard about them from a friend’s Facebook post. Then their story was in Florida Today:

http://www.floridatoday.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=2011107210313

The quick story on them:
They were on a family vacation in Georgia when they were rear ended at a light. I’ve read different versions, but either way, the other car had to be seriously speeding. Their six yr old daughter, Hannah, died. Their two older girls broke multiple bones and suffered a few other injuries. Their 3 yr old little boy, Owen, received a serious spinal injury and is now a quadriplegic. That part really breaks my heart. Only 3 yrs old! That’s Haddie’s age! But I’m still praying for a miracle for that little guy!

Both parents suffered concussions and the mom, who was 20 wks pregnant at the time, had some broken ribs. Praise God that the baby is still ok!

Here’s a link to their online journal and updates:

http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/thinkingofthejohnsons

There also seem to have been a number of motorcycle accidents recently. There was one in the news here in Brevard where the 50 yr old rider died because he wasn’t wearing a helmet.

Another younger rider died just last night, too. He was only about 20 and was a high school friend of one our college students. Unfortunately, he wasn’t making the best choices in his life prior to the accident. And wasn’t on very good terms with his family. I’m praying that his friends and family will still be able to find peace and comfort.

Another friend’s parents got into a motorcycle accident with a deer. Thankfully they survived, but the deer wasn’t so lucky. They did get a number of scrapes, deep cuts (a couple requiring surgery) and a few broken bones. But as far as I’ve heard, they’re recovering well.

All of the bike accidents make me super glad that Seth sold his bike a few months ago. I never felt real worried with him riding it, but I’m sure these recent accidents would have caused me some anxiety.

And last week I heard of another bike accident, although this one was quite humorous:

http://www.foxnews.com/us/2011/07/22/california-motorcyclist-lands-in-vans-back-seat-driver-unaware/

All of these tragedies have given me a chance to really see Haddie’s compassion and innocent prayers in action even more. I am thoroughly convinced of the power of innocent children’s prayers. After all, Jesus said,

“Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. I tell you the truth, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.” (Mark 10:14-15)

“I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. And whoever welcomes a little child like this in my name welcomes me.” (Matthew 18:3-5)

I just think that God has a special place in His heart for children’s prayers. I almost feel like He listens to theirs first. Well…almost, not totally sure on that last one, but still.

I love to see how Haddie remembers to pray for so many people. She even has to remind me sometimes! She has been praying for my friend’s parents since the night that we got the text. We prayed when we got the text and Haddie insisted on praying at least three more times that night. She has also been praying a lot for the Johnson family and Owen (and she even remembers these names!). And she keeps praying for our pregnant friends who have been struggling with the regular pregnancy illness.

Can you tell how sweet my baby is? I’m constantly amazed at how well she even remembers to pray before meals. She even has to remind me sometimes! And I crack up when she thanks God before each serving and sometimes before eating the different foods. I can just picture God’s big smile each time.

And I’m still amazed when she wakes up scared at night and asks me to pray with her to ask God to make her feel better. I mean, we started trying to teach her to do that, but it’s great to hear her ask on her own.

I can’t wait to see all the blessing her prayers are going to bring to others and to the future years of her life.

Children really are such an amazing blessing. And our God really is an even more amazing blessing.

 

Leave a Reply

