P31 Wannabe

Crafty Day August 26, 2011

Filed under: Crafts,Life — Lacey @ 1:57 am

I woke up with a headache today, the same headache I went to bed with. So, I bummed in bed a little longer this morning with an ice pack while waiting for the meds to kick in. Needless to say, I wasn’t motivated to do much. That and the rainy windy weather didn’t help much to energize me.

So, I decided it was a craft day. I decided to try painting a couple of Haddie’s shirts. Here’s the pic from a Parents magazine that inspired me:

20110826-125535.jpg

Here’s the instructions. Sorry, I can’t get them to turn since I’m uploading on my phone.

20110826-125833.jpg

So, I got my paint together and some of Haddie’s Dora pencils to use their erasers for painting.

20110826-014338.jpg

I even let Haddie paint a play shirt. She started out using the eraser and ended up using her fingers.

20110826-014351.jpg

Well, after getting a cute idea for Haddie’s shirt and started painting. Then I looked closer at the paint label and realized it wasn’t fabric paint like I thought. Instead it was WASHABLE paper paint. Yeah, washable! So I let it dry and hoped that it would stay. I washed both shirts and sad to say, the paint washed out almost completely. It only left a few white spots. So my plan B is to break out some of my older house paint or breakdown and buy some actual fabric paint.

I went to work on my quilt again but after trying to cut more fabric I have discovered that my rotary blade is super dull. So I’m going to have to buy a replacement blade before I can work more.

For my last project tonight, I finally made curtain tiebacks for Haddie’s room. I had been using ribbon and just actually tying them back, but I wanted something nicer. So I used the leftover fabric from wall border. Here’s what I came up with:

20110826-015500.jpg

20110826-015516.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

