P31 Wannabe

Sleeping Beauty August 27, 2011

Filed under: Life — Lacey @ 7:21 pm

Haddie borrowed the Sleeping Beauty movie from her cousins this week. We finally watched it today and a number of observations came to mind.

I remembered again that While reading golden book version of Sleeping Beauty, Haddie always noticed that Aurora wasn’t wearing shoes in the forrest. She always used to say “mommy, she doesn’t have shoes on! She’s supposed to wear shoes outside! Her feet are going to get hurt.”

On a more important note, ehy is it ok for a 16 yr old to get married? Really, is that the message we want to send to our kids. Also, Ever notice almost all Disney movies the main character isn’t “complete” until they have a mate? Their “true love.”

I found it especially interesting that the Prince was given the Sword of truth to conquer the dragon. Does anyone else see the symbolism here?

Overall, I just eish there wasn’t so much evil and witchcraft in Disney movies. Especially the older ones.

For instance, I thought The Princess and The Frog was cute but I really hated all the voodoo in it. Seemed especially evil for some reason.

I don’t mind the movies having some more of bad guys, but why do they have to be so evil? I guess I like movies like Cars, Lilo & Stitch, Veggie Tales, etc that still have a plot without so much evil. But maybe that’s just me. Maybe I’m looking too deeply into it all…but maybe not.

 

Leave a Reply

