P31 Wannabe

Take Two August 30, 2011

Filed under: Life — Lacey @ 1:29 am

Seems like it’s the cool trend to plant a vegetable garden. I’ve been thinking about it for a while, too. I tried once at the house in Cocoa. It did good for a while then it seemed to disintegrate between bugs, the heat and fungus. We got a few tomatoes and squash from it, but nothing worth the effort that I put into it. I gave up and didnt do another one the next couple years.

Now that our new yard has a lot more space, I thought it might be time to try again. And I’d like for Haddie to be able to help this time. Last time she was still under a year old. Plus this garden will have no problem being pollinated since we have our own beehive!

So, I bought some seeds at Walmart to start. I decided on basil, lettuce and broccoli. Haddie had already gotten watermelon and sunflower seeds for her birthday in a gardening set. And I’m thinking about buying some berry bushes. I also have some seeds from the previous garden (yellow squash, zucchini, corn, cantaloupe), but I’m not sure I’m going to use them since they’re a couple years old and didn’t produce the best plants last time. Anyone have any advice on that one?

The lettuce said that it may not germinate outdoors if it’s too hot, so I decided to start it inside. And the basil I’m just going to leave inside. I think I’m going to get a few more herbs to try inside too. Here’s all the starter pots Haddie and I did:

20110830-012241.jpg

20110830-012731.jpg

Seth helped me to start clearing out the grass from the area I’m going to plant. The project is probably going to take the rest of the week, if not a little longer. I just wish it wasn’t so stinking hot outside! I may just have to make myself wake up early to get some of it done. We’ll see.

20110830-012756.jpg

If you look under the tree, that box there on the right are the bees.

20110830-012823.jpg

Haddie was helping me fill up the pots with dirt, but I think she got the wrong idea.

20110830-012849.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

