P31 Wannabe

Excited About Homeschooling September 4, 2011

Filed under: Crafts,Deals!,Homeschooling,Life — Lacey @ 12:01 am

I’m really getting excited about all the possibilities of homeschooling and I’m really going to enjoy teaching science. There’s so much that fits in this category and it’s actually a lot of fun. More fun than I realized.

I went to Walmart today to try to find a quilting hoop and failed. They had pretty much everything else quilting wise, but no hoops. Not even for embroidery. As a side note, if any of you are interested in trying out quilting, get your supplies from Walmart. It’s so much cheaper than Hobby Lobby or Hancock. Even with their occasional 30-40% off sales. Well, anyways, back on topic.

Since I didn’t find the hoop, I wandered into the clearance aisle (of course! Even my 3 yr old knows this word well!), and found some goodies. For one thing, Walmart now has a $.97 section (similar to Target’s front $1 section). Guess they’re trying to beat Target & Dollar Tree at their game.

I found some neat items for homeschooling and such. Got some teacher’s planning books for $.97 each:

20110903-114742.jpg

Got these packs of letter stickers (2 sheets in each) and these magnetic week planning pads for $.97 each. I figured the letter stickers would be great for the kids to work on learning their letters and they’d be good for scrapbooking, too (not that I have time to take up another hobby or anything. I still need to do Haddie’s first year scrapbook!). And the calendar pads will help us keep our weeks in order better now that they’re getting busier.

20110903-114753.jpg

I got these kids gloves for our science projects this month since they’re going to be learning about plants and gardening. Im planning on them planting some plants in the bamboo pots I got from Walgreens this week. And I hope to have them help me start our veggie garden, too. I was quite happy when they rang up for $.50 each instead of the $.97 I expected!

20110903-114803.jpg

I also found some packs of Disney character erasers and pens for $.50 each. Think I’ll put some aside for future gifts and use the rest as special prizes for homeschooling.

And back to the earlier story, I ended up going to Hobby Lobby to get the quilting hoop and was very proud of myself for only coming out with the hoop. And I even found a 40% off coupon in my email to use for it. I browsed their fabrics though and found some really neat patterns I’d love to use for my next quilt. Yep, already planning on the next one! I want to make one for my bed this time…yes, I’m crazy for wanting to do a queen quilt next. We’ll see what happens. Oh, and here’s a pic of my hoop being put to good use and my first few rectangles stitched in the ditch (yep, that’s what it’s called!).

20110903-114815.jpg

 

2 Responses to “Excited About Homeschooling”

  1. jennuhhwall Says:

    thats a very pretty quilt. (:
    BTW have you ever heard of the show “Extreme Couponing” its so crazy, people buy like 3 thousand dollars worth of stuff and only end up paying between nothing and $50

    • Lacey Says:

      I’ve heard of the show and read some reviews but I’ve never actually seen it. And I will never be like that! I don’t need 5 years worth of toilet paper nor do I have enough room to store it! And I definitely don’t have that much time to devote to it!


Leave a Reply

