P31 Wannabe

Putting My Current Insomnia to Good Use October 17, 2011

Filed under: Books,Homeschooling,Life — Lacey @ 2:55 am

Yep, tonight has become another night of insomnia. I don’t know what up with this recently, but I’m over it. Tonight’s lack of shut eye may be due to the nap I took earlier, or the migraine pill I took earlier that has caffeine in it (although that hasn’t really ever bothered me). I have been trying to go to bed earlier so I’m not so tempted to sleep in as much and so I can be more productive during the day. But alas, my efforts at actually sleeping while in bed have miserably failed…hence this 2 am posting. I’m thinking that my body needs to get used to sleeping earlier at night, but it’s hard to not make the cycle worse by napping and such.

The last couple nights I’ve just laid in the dark trying to sleep, thinking of random things, checking Facebook, looking on pinterest, checking my email, trying to pray, reading the news on 3 different apps, checking the newest Groupon and Saveology deals, counting in spanish, getting a snack, and all the while trying to lull myself to sleep.

Usually when I can’t sleep I’m hesitant about getting out of bed. I still feel tired and out of it enough to be unable to actual do anything productive. Also, I don’t want to wake myself up anymore than I already am.

Well, after tossing and turning for over two hours last night, I determined I didn’t want to repeat that tonight. And I’ve been dying to dive into my stack of books on homeschooling and adoption. So, that’s what I did tonight, after doing all those previously mentioned activities (I did find some pretty funny stuff on pinterest).

I really enjoyed reading this first chapter in one of my homeschooling books. I’m gonna start posting some of the highlights as I go. It’s definitely a paradigm switch and it’s going to take me a while to break out of the “schooled” mindset and into “true education” way of life. But I’m excited about all the possibilities!

Here’s the Homeschool books I’m going to be reading:

The Ultimate Book of Homeschooling Ideas by Linda Dobson

The Unschooling Handbook: How To Use the World as Your Child’s Classroom

Your First Year of Homeschooling Your Child by Linda Dobson

 

Leave a Reply

