P31 Wannabe

Pumpkin Pie Spice October 22, 2011

Filed under: Breads,Deals!,Desserts,Recipes,Side Dishes/Snacks — Lacey @ 1:37 am

In case you haven’t noticed, pumpkin pie spice is kinda expensive, especially for the tiny container it seems to always be sold in. Recently I ran out halfway through a recipe and had to fumble to make up the rest. I looked at the ingredients (allspice, nutmeg, cinnamon, and ginger), and made a small quick mix of the ones that I had (all except allspice). The recipe came out fine. You couldn’t even tell the difference.

So when I went to buy more pumpkin pie spice, and I again saw the price, I knew I couldn’t bear to pay so much. Especially since it was twice the price of a larger container of allspice. I could have gotten 4x as much allspice as pumpkin pie spice at that price.

Needless to say, I bought the allspice and determined to make my own mix.

It didn’t occur to me until tonight to search online about pumpkin pie spice. I found this quick and great mix recipe:

Pumpkin Pie Spice Mix

So I made it. And of course I ran out of nutmeg. Ironic, I know. Anyways, I used the mix (with only 1/3 if the nutmeg) to make the pumpkin pie croissants and they were still really yummy!

This mix is really going to come in handy with all the upcoming fall and holiday recipes!

 

Leave a Reply

