P31 Wannabe

Best Cut-Out Sugar Cookies December 14, 2011

Filed under: Desserts,Recipes — Lacey @ 1:15 am

Last week we attempted to use Haddie’s new Christmas cookie cutters. I searched online for a recipe and based on some of the reviews I decided to try this recipe.

It was delicious, but I couldn’t get it the right consistency to roll out even after 40 min in the fridge and another 20 in the freezer. It probably would have been fine if I had let it sit in the fridge over night, but I had an excited 3 yr old who was up past her bedtime. So we settled with making balls with the dough and flattening them with a floured bottom of a cup so she could decorate them.

20111207-000043.jpg

And like I said, they were delicious. Especially for sugar cookies! They had flavor and were moist and fluffy. I followed the recipe except I omitted the zest and just added twice the amount of vanilla instead of the almond extract.

Here’s the recipe:
Sugar Cookies

And here’s an awesome and easy icing recipe:
Cookie Icing

 

Leave a Reply

