P31 Wannabe

Midnight Purging December 15, 2011

Filed under: Life — Lacey @ 3:50 am

No, no. I don’t mean the actual vomiting kind of purging. I’m talking about the throwing junk away and organizing kind. And yep, I went on a 4 hour cleaning and organizing binge tonight. And man, do I feel sooooo much better. Ok, I’m super tired now. But I’m excited to see the progress and to know that when I get up tomorrow (well, I guess later today), I’ll be miles ahead than I was only a few hours ago. It’s so nice to start out the day in a half way clean house.

I like my house clean. It doesn’t have to be spic and span, able to eat off the floor clean, but I do like a basically organized and tidy home. I thrive on organization. If my house gets too messy and cluttered, I feel like my whole life is in chaos. Messes stress me out. I can’t fully relax when I’m surrounded my piles of stuff that remind me how much I still have to do.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I let my 3-yr old make plenty of messes. And I let my naturally disorganized and laid back hubby make plenty of his own. Just take a gander into our garage or side yard, or better yet, his truck, and you’ll believe me. And I’m all for getting messy and having fun. After all, this is what we did yesterday in school:

20111215-023108.jpg

But still, messiness has its proper time and place and it doesn’t belong in my house all the time. Yet, that’s really what it’s been for the past month or so. It seems like I haven’t been able to catch up. After 3 trips out of town, being sick with colds, Thanksgiving, and all the Holiday fun, I have gotten so behind in everything! It stresses me out. Especially since its a naturally busy time of the year anyways. And I want to enjoy it! I want to savor it all with Haddie since she’s old enough to get it and participate so much more.

But I’ve felt like a chicken with its head cut off recently (not that I’ve ever actually seen one!). And I’m so tired of always being in a rush, constantly interrupted from projects, never able to finish anything and constantly telling Haddie, “no, not right now, I’m busy.”

Alas, it’s been one of those self defeating cycles. I feel like I have so much to do that I don’t know where to start so I just don’t. That or I don’t want to do any of it and I can’t get myself motivated. Most mornings I have a hard time getting myself out of bed. I just feel so tired and worn out. But yet, I don’t feel like I’ve done that much to be so tired. It’s so self defeating.

Well, today, I had just had enough. I was so tired of having to walk through the obstacle courses, aka my bedroom, Haddie’s room and the office (the ultimate death trap!), that I got into a rare cleaning frenzy.

There I was cleaning Haddie’s room at 11 pm! Yep, she was still awake and slightly helping me. I had to take numerous sneaky trips out of her room to throw away a number of items. And finally, you can see the floor again and there’s no risk of injury or death.

Then I tackled my room. I finally completely emptied my suit case and duffle bags, put away laundry and actually hung up all the clean clothes! Yep, before they had to be put back into the dryer to be dewrinkled! Amazing, I know. I accomplished all this as Seth was passed out and snoring! I was so desperate to make some progress!

I made my own laundry soap after being inspired my none other than pinterest, of course. I did two loads of laundry to try it out. And now, drum roll please, I think I’m all caught up on all the clothes! Oh and the laundry soap seems good so far. But I’ll talk about that in another post I’m sure.

And finally, I got to the worst room in the house…the office. Seth finally got the shelves up for me earlier today so I set to work on organizing. The room was seriously so bad that it was bordering on a hoarder’s episode, except I didn’t have any rotting food or dead animals in there. Thank goodness!

Here’s what I accomplished in there:

20111215-025232.jpg

20111215-025241.jpg

So, I know it’s not going to be featured on pinterest any time soon (I’m not willing to spend a fortune on beautiful matching bins and such), but I’m so happy with the progress. It’s slowly turning into a nice school room.

So, now I feel accomplished. And I know that waking up will be much easier (well, maybe not since it’s so late). I’ll at least not feel so behind and overwhelmed before I get moving!

(and yes, I can’t believe I spent that long rambling about cleaning and organizing…)

 

Leave a Reply

