P31 Wannabe

DIY Laundry Supplies January 4, 2012

Filed under: Deals!,Life — Lacey @ 12:15 pm

I have found some really awesome DIY household cleaning recipes on pinterest. Seriously, if you don’t have an account why not?? I feel like I’m always raving about the gems I find on there. Ok, rant over.

I’ve been making this fabric softener and it’s great.

Homemade Fabric Softener

I’m on at least my third batch. I have made a half batch everytime and it fits perfectly into my empty fabric softener bottle.

I never smell the vinegar afterwards and the clothes are as soft as any store bought brand. The only thing I sometimes miss is the strong fresh scent from the store bought softener. I’m still experimenting with adding fragrance oils (small bottle used for soaps and such, not the bigger bottles sold for oil warmers). I bought mine at Hobby Lobby. I think I still need to add more and/or use more fragranced conditioner. I’m going to use Herbal Essence next. I love it’s smell, but I don’t like how it makes my hair look. So perfect solution, huh?

This homemade formula should be cheaper than store bought softeners, especially if you buy cheaper conditioner (suave, store brand, or find a sweet deal at CVS).

I saw a helpful hint on pinterest for homemade dryer sheets (can’t find the link again). Just soak a hand towel with fabric softener and let it completely dry. Then throw it in the dryer with your next load. It’s supposed to be good for at least 10 loads.

I made a big batch of this homemade laundry detergent . I gave out jars of it for part of some Christmas gifts for my friends to try out and ended up quite a bit left over, too! It’s great, cheap, and pretty easy to make.

For the gifts I used empty food jars (mainly salsa and spaghetti sauce), mod podged some cute scrapbook paper on the outside and lids and attached a small scoop. The scoops came in packs of two at the dollar store.

Here’s the lids from the jars:

20120104-230941.jpg

20120104-231005.jpg

I planned on adding cute tags with directions and the recipe, but my printer and computer wouldnt cooperate and I was on a time crunch. So, I just emailed them to them after the fact. Anyways, as far as I can tell, they were a hit. And I’m going to keep making this detergent for myself, too!

 

Leave a Reply

