P31 Wannabe

More Homemade Gifts February 28, 2012

Filed under: Crafts,Life — Lacey @ 6:30 pm

Yesterday I posted about the book letters and fabric flowers I made for Christmas gifts. I also made a number of other gifts for Christmas. Here they are:

Homemade Laundry Detergent Jars

I made a batch of powdered laundry detergent and made a jar of it for numerous people. I wanted to give a gift that was useful. I figured that they could try out the detergent to see if they liked it and then make a big load themselves later if they liked it. That way they could try out the detergent without committing to making a large bucket of it first. And it’s always a great gift of it helps you save $, right?

I tried it on a few loads for myself (to make sure it was safe and good). It was great and I had no problems with it. I used empty old jars from salsa, and spaghetti sauce. I spray painted the kids white and mod posted scrapbook paper to the lids:

20111223-003450.jpg

Everyone I gave it to liked it. They commented on its fresh smell and at least a couple of them made their own loads.

Gingerbread House Frames

For some family members, Haddie made foam ginger bread house picture frame magnets. I found them online (and on sale!) at Oriental Trading. I showed Haddie how to do them then let her pretty much do the rest herself. She really enjoyed putting them together and I liked giving out gifts that she actually made.

20111223-003646.jpg

After they dried I taped a picture of Haddie to the back of each.

Sugar scrubs

For some of the ladies in the family I made homemade sugar scrubs. I read a number of recipes online. Most of them were pretty similar. So I ended up following the basic idea and still doing my own thing. I used small canning jars and decorated some of them:

20111223-003716.jpg

Here’s one of the best recipes I followed:

Happy Housewife

I only used the colored sugar crystals for a few of them (the ones above). However I didn’t use the vanilla. I used scented bath oils from Hobby Lobby. For some of them I used a mixture of regular sugar and brown sugar to make it a bit more gentle.

Knitted Letter

For my sister who’s really into knitting I came up with this themed letter. I wrapped purple yarn around a thick cardboard letter. I used hot glue every once in a while to keep the yarn in place. I glued a piece of yarn on the back for hanging then I made a small yarn ball glued it to the front. I also used two small pieces of wooden dowel rod and sharpened the ends with a pencil sharpener to make mini knitting needles. I spray painted them silver and glued them with the yarn ball on the front.

The pictures aren’t the best as they don’t do it justice. I was pretty happen with how it turned out.

20111224-012404.jpg

20111224-012416.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

