P31 Wannabe

Who Does Your Procrastination Hurt? March 5, 2012

Filed under: Books,God thoughts,Life — Lacey @ 7:14 pm

Going through my devotional today (Controlling Your Pests by Ross Brodfuehrer), I was again challenged with some thoughts I wanted to share.

This week’s “pest” is procrastination. I figure that most of us struggle with this, right? Nobody’s perfect…so we’re all guilty of this. I guess thinking that kinda makes me feel less guilty, like I’m not alone, and like its not that big of a deal.

Hey, I always feel like I’m trying to work on this pest. It’s like an endless cycle. I do better, but then get tired, so I put stuff off, then I feel bad about it (or my house is trashed), so I finally do something about it…until I get tired and lazy again. Sound familiar? Oh, please say it does…at least so I don’t feel so bad about myself!

But honestly, I have been trying to work on this. I’ve been exercising more (twice in less than a week, that’s pretty good for me!), eating better, keeping my house a bit cleaner, and trying to keep up with my daily devos. But again, I’m not perfect. I still have so much to learn and fix. I still hate getting up early (and I still fail badly at it if I don’t have some where I have to be). I can’t seem to go to bed at a decent time so that I can get up earlier (again, that blasted self-defeating cycle!). But I always figure, tomorrows another day. I’ll get better eventually. No ones perfect, so it doesn’t make me that bad!

Well, the questions in today’s devo slapped me in the face a bit. They made me realize how many people my laziness and procrastination really affect. And not just how many, but how deeply and in how many ways it does. Ugh.

“Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it.

So I find this law at work: When I want to do good, evil is right there with me. For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; but I see another law at work in the members of my body, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within my members. What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death? Thanks be to God–through Jesus Christ our Lord!

So then, I myself in my mind am a slave to God’s law, but in the sinful nature a slave to the law of sin.”(Romans 7:20-25 NIV84)

So, I know there is hope. I know that God’s mercies are new every morning. But change only comes from repentance. After all, the word repentance really means “a change of mind.” Therefore, don’t hate me, but I want to challenge you to “change your mind” (especially if you’re human and you struggle with procrastination). I want to pass on this encouragement and spur you on. So, take a few minutes and seriously consider these questions. Break out your journal or even just a piece of paper and write out your answers. Don’t just do it in your head because writing it out keeps you focused and makes you think a lot harder. Here we go…

1. What areas do you procrastinate in? What are you frustrated about because you put if off continuously?

For me, I struggle with putting off my household cleaning, paying bills, getting up earlier, exercise, eating healthier, doing my daily devos, and more (a few other ones too personal to put out there for everyone and their mom to read).

2. When it comes to each area of procrastination, why do you put it off?

3. Are those motives selfish or selfless?

4. Who does your procrastination affect and to what degree?

(Here’s where it can be easy to just name a few names. But really, list out each person and how they are affected. This was the most shocking and convicting part for me. I had a long list! Don’t forget the people you should pray for, but don’t…pray is powerful, and the lack of prayer has to affect others in drastic ways, too. )

Now, the hope…
Look up these verses:
2 Corinthians 5:17, 4:16-18
James 4:7-10
Hebrews 12:7-11
Ephesians 3:20
Galatians 2:20-21
Galatians 6:7-10
2 Corinthians 9:6-8
2 Corinthians 12:9-10
2 Corinthians 9:26-27

And if you struggle with procrastinating on housework and don’t even know where to begin, I want to recommend this ebook: 28 Days To Hope For Your Home

I bought this ebook last week and am on day #5. The reading is less than a page everyday and the ideas are basic. But it has helped me to keep my kitchen at a pretty clean level and ends up motivating me to tackle a lot more. I’m really a fan of her methods so far. She also has a blog, but I haven’t read it yet (guess I’m procrastinating, hehe…get it?).

Hope some of these ideas help you to meet the challenges of your life more head on instead of avoiding it all. And as a result, you can feel better about yourself, make God happy and affect those around you in positive ways instead of making them pick up the slack!

 

One Response to “Who Does Your Procrastination Hurt?”


Leave a Reply

