P31 Wannabe

Overnight Crockpot Oatmeal March 16, 2012

Filed under: Main Courses,Recipes,Side Dishes/Snacks,Slow Cooker — Lacey @ 1:00 pm

I’m not the biggest fan of oatmeal. The weird consistency is what gets me. But Haddie has always liked it but many mornings she’s too impatient to wait for it to cook and cool. I’ve seen the slow cook recipes but they always call for steel cut oats and I don’t buy them. But when I saw them in aldi I figured it was time to try it.

I followed this recipe: (I just searched though google)

Slow cooker oatmeal

It was good. Not too runny or stiff. I didn’t do any of the add-ins. Just the basic vanilla cinnamon. I felt like it could have had a little more flavor. Seth thought it was fine. If I make it again I’d probably add a little more cinnamon and some diced apples.

The one big downside is the crusty mess it made in my crockpot. I soaked it for two days and then broke out the supposed miraculous baking soda and peroxide mix. It got some crustiness off, but there’s a bit that may be impossible! So this is a bit of a deterrent to making it again. I guess it needs a little less baking time? Or the sides of the crockpot just get way too hot!

 

Leave a Reply

