P31 Wannabe

Cilantro Lime Chicken (Slow Cooker) May 9, 2012

Filed under: Recipes,Side Dishes/Snacks,Slow Cooker — Lacey @ 4:26 pm

I found this recipe on Pinterest of course and it was sooo good (I’m actually eating it right now on a salad)!

20120509-162034.jpg

My salad has celery, bell peppers, cheese, cucumbers, corn from the cob, tomatoes, the chicken, carrots, sunflower seeds, romaine lettuce and a little ranch dressing. And boy is it good!

But back to the chicken. This recipe is super easy. I made it a little more complicated because I made my own salsa. But I couldn’t let my bunch of fresh cilantro go to waste, right? I’ll be posting about the salsa recipe next. So stay tuned. It’s really good, too!

My chicken wasn’t as moist as the recipe’s author’s was, but it was still decent. My results probably came from cooking it on high instead of low. I used frozen chicken breasts and wanted it done earlier. Otherwise I would have gone for the low cook option.

Here’s the link for the full recipe:

Cilantro Lime Chicken

 

3 Responses to “Cilantro Lime Chicken (Slow Cooker)”

  1. That looks delicious – I am pretty sure I’ve pinned that recipe but I love the look of it on a salad. Just an FYI on crockpot highs and lows – the only difference is how fast they get to the manufacturer’s specified cooking temperature. (Sad but true: if you read Rival’s website, they ‘fess up…there’s no temp difference between the two.) So the tough/tender issue might have been attributable to how long you cooked them, how long they had been frozen, or something else beyond your control. Still looks picture-perfect, though. Thanks for sharing!
    Best,
    Terry

  2. Yeah, it was a surprise to me. In fact, I researched it and then blogged about the findings: http://domesticateddilettante.wordpress.com/2011/10/25/crockpot-youre-my-hero/ Thanks again for the inspiring picture and idea for using that recipe. It’s definitely going on next week’s menu!


Leave a Reply

