P31 Wannabe

Homemade Citrus Vinegar Cleaner May 9, 2012

Filed under: Life — Lacey @ 4:49 pm

I saw this cleaner recipe (can it be called a recipe?) on Pinterest awhile back and after I was given two big bags of grapefruit I decided to give it a try.

It’s really easy and I am really happy with the results. I used it today to clean my counters, dining room table, bathroom sinks and toilets. It left my table and counters clean and residue free. I didn’t even end up with water marks like I have with some other cleaners.

The sinks came out great and so did the outsides of the toilets. It’s supposed to be good on soap scum and I’ll test that out later on the showers. It also had a pretty pleasant citrus smell. The citrus helped to cover some of the vinegar smell, too.

20120509-164902.jpg

Here’s the basic way to make it:
Use an old clean jar and put citrus peels in it, then pour in vinegar. Shake it up and leave it for two weeks. I added my peels as I got them and shook the jar at those times. Then when it’s all ready, pour the vinegar mixture into a spray bottle and add an equal amount of water. Then you’re all set to clean! Oh and I strained the vinegar mixture while I was pouring it. And I refilled the jar that had the peels with more vinegar and started a new one, too. This time it has orange and lime peels so far.

Here’s the full recipe:
Homemade Citrus Vinegar Cleaner

 

Leave a Reply

