P31 Wannabe

Sage Chicken Spaghetti Squash May 28, 2012

Filed under: Main Courses,Recipes — Lacey @ 5:59 pm

Recently I was inspired to trim up my kitchen herb garden based on an article I read. As a result, I was left with quite a bit of fresh sage and basil. I know how to use basil, but I’ve never cooked with fresh sage. So I searched for recipes online. I decided on a pasta recipe.

Then the other day at Walmart, they had spaghetti squash at a good price. Since we haven’t had that in forever, I decided to grab one. With the sage and spaghetti squash, I decided to combine the two for a new recipe. It actually turned out good and it’s gotta be really healthy.

20120528-175601.jpg

Here’s what I did:

Ingredients:
1 whole spaghetti squash
1/4 c olive oil
4 cloves garlic crushed
20 fresh sage leaves
1 lb boneless skinless chicken, cut up
1 lemon to juice

1. Poke the whole spaghetti squash at least five times with a sharp knife. Make sure the holes go in deep so it doesn’t explode. I put mine in a big bowl to cook (some liquid does come out). Put in microwave for 5 min. Roll the squash and cook for another 5 min.

2. Meanwhile, combine the garlic, olive oil and sage leaves in a skillet and cook for a few min on med. Move into a bowl.

3. Cook the chicken in the skillet. When it’s almost finished, squeeze the lemon over and cook for a few more min. Add the oil mixture back into the skillet to keep warm.

4. Take spaghetti squash out and carefully cut in half (it’s hot!). Remove the seeds and first layer of strings. Then use a fork to shred the squash. Combine with the chicken mixture.

Here’s the links to the two recipes I combined:
Spaghetti Sauce

Linguine with Sage & Chicken

I pretty much followed this last recipe, but I omitted the bread crumbs (who needs the extra carbs?). I also used some shredded chicken I had already frozen. And since there wasn’t the regular juice from cooking raw chicken, I added a cup of chicken broth. I also didn’t have any Parmesan cheese (and forgot to add any other cheese).

I liked the texture of the spaghetti squash this time more than any of the other few times I made it. It wasn’t as grainy or crunchy. Much more tender and easier to eat. I’m not sure if it was because it was a smaller squash or because I cooked it whole.

 

Leave a Reply

