P31 Wannabe

Dresser Makeover September 13, 2012

Filed under: Crafts,Life — Lacey @ 7:37 pm

My dad bought Haddie this dresser before she was born.

20120913-193624.jpg

It was a neutral color and I never got around to repainting it to match her room better. Well, after seeing a number of dresser makeovers on pinterest, I got inspired to finally redo it. Well, my inspiration was a couple months ago and I am finally now working on it. I started the project on Haddie’s 4th bday and decided it would be a good birthday gift.

I gave Haddie a choice of 3 different scrapbook paper designs at Hobby Lobby. I bought a stack of the paper and then chose a paint color that would match the paper and her room. I painted her dresser drawers first. I think I did 2 or 3 coats of paint. After the drawers dried for a day, I then mod podged the scrapbook paper to the drawer. I started to do put the glue both under and on top of the paper, but I didn’t like the look, so I settled for just brushing on the homemade mod podge (half glue half water) then carefully smoothing the paper on top. After it dried, I spray painted it with clear paint. I think I did 4 coats to seal it well. I was going to take off the handles and even bought new pretty ones, but they wouldn’t come off and I was afraid the wood was going to break. So I settled for keeping the handles. They did make it a bit more complicated in cutting the paper around the handles! But I managed.

20120913-192720.jpg

It took a week or two until I finally got to the dresser itself. I did 2-3 coats of pink depending on the area.

20120913-192932.jpg

After it dried for a few days I mod podged the scrapbook paper onto the doors. Thankfully I didn’t have to go around handles this time. After it dried I sprayed a good 4-5 coats of clear paint on it. I also sprayed the handles to hopefully keep any wearing of the paint down.

I’m very pleased with how it turned out! The picture and lighting really doesn’t do it justice.

20120913-193236.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

