P31 Wannabe

HS: Thanksgiving Unit Study December 12, 2013

Filed under: Books,Homeschooling,Life — Lacey @ 2:50 am

I hadn’t planned on doing a unit study in thanksgiving for our homeschool this year. But when I found this free study in my Free Homeschool Deals email (if you don’t subscribe, you should!!! Lots of free worksheets, unit studies and kindle books!!) I spontaneously decided to add it to our lessons. (A total positive side of homeschooling, btw!)

20131212-012100.jpg

You can get it here.

I had planned on doing it leading up to thanksgiving, but I didn’t plan well enough. I didn’t request the books early enough from the library, I didn’t print out the materials soon enough and I didn’t take our busy schedule into account, so we didn’t start until thanksgiving day. And since I had the books I couldn’t just not do the whole study! So we did the majority of the unit study the week after thanksgiving. Unconventional, I know, but we learned nonetheless.

The books used in the study were good. Easy enough to understand, yet lots of new facts and interesting stories. I learned a ton myself about all different aspects of thanksgiving story (and all the events that led up to it).

20131212-012800.jpg

20131212-012807.jpg

20131212-012815.jpg

20131212-012825.jpg

We didn’t do all the activities listed in the materials (which have handy website links in the PDF), but we did a number of them, including color by numbers and mayflower math:

20131212-012945.jpg

20131212-012954.jpg

We also watched some of the videos linked to the unit study. They were a little long for H’s attention span, so we skipped through parts of the videos. I look forward to using this material again next year and seeing how much H remembers from this year’s study. There is plenty to be able to expand further once she get older, too.

In addition to the unit study we did a few other thanksgiving/fall themed crafts:

We did hand print painting (the ideas came from some of my creative fb friends):
This is K’s

20131212-013420.jpg

H took more of a free hand method.

20131212-013505.jpg

We made fingerprint turkeys (idea from Pinterest):

20131212-013541.jpg

H expanded and made a pilgrim on her own (although not with her fingerprints, obviously):

20131212-013624.jpg

We collected leaves from the yard (we don’t have much variety since we have one tree and other couple are palms), brushed paint on them and then stamped them to make leaf prints:

20131212-013742.jpg

H also painted some leaf pictures I had printed out:

20131212-013859.jpg
I had planned on using these (a few other ones) leaf templates to do some other fall crafts but ran out of time and energy.

We did some other fun thanksgiving worksheets I found on Pinterest:

20131212-014009.jpg

20131212-014017.jpg

Finally, we also made a thankful tree at the beginning of November:

20131212-014056.jpg
My lame dollar store construction paper packets didn’t have any brown paper, so I cut out the trunk and branches from plain paper and we colored them brown (should have painted them if I had thought more about it). Then we taped them to the back of our front door (we don’t have much open wall space in our house). The goal was to have each of us write one thing we’re thankful for each night on a different leaf, then tape it to the tree. The one rule was that we couldn’t repeat what anyone else had already written down (gets quite challenging!). Of course we weren’t always consistent, so sometimes we had to do it in the morning, other times we did two at a time to catch up. And sometimes we missed it altogether. We even had K did it a few times (if we got to it before she went to bed). It really is a great reminder of how many things we have to be thankful for and a challenge to have to think of things we may not always thank God for, but should!

For our leaves, we used a packet of dollar store precut fall multicolored leaves, pumpkins and acorns. I also tried to find more another store trip, but couldn’t, so we settled for green doily leaf cut outs. Not my favorite, but they got the job done and saved me from cutting out tons of leaves!

So, that’s what we did for thanksgiving this year. I plan to do a lot of the same again next year and probably add in a few more crafts since the girls will be older and able to handle more. And since I will now already have done the material, I won’t need to prepare so much ahead!

 

Leave a Reply

